Today’s Word: Recovery

We recently received a message from a dancer: “I’ve had [surgery] and I’m having a hard time getting back into dancing. I feel like when I contract nothing happens, and isolations are really painful. I’m on the verge of giving up, I can’t even roll my belly anymore.”

This particular dancer will have a journey involving factors and choices personal to her case, but, there are common themes to her situation that we all can share. Every dancer will encounter times of recovery and rehabilitation. Some injuries take what may seem like an excruciating amount of healing time, and often a dancer never returns to where she was before. . .her body changes over time due to many reasons. Don’t give up. You can come out the other side a better dancer with better understanding of your body and emotions. Continue effective training, but learn how to adjust and adapt to continue in your dance. Continue to love and honor your body, allow yourself to mourn if needed but more forward, and keep yourself open to creativity and growth. Perspective can change and grow. . . you can evolve.

Recovery is part of our Today’s Word: Sometimes We Have Something to Say series in which we discuss in brief the common themes and questions facing dancers.

This entry was posted in Today's Word: Sometimes We Have Something to Say. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today’s Word: Recovery

  1. This post really resonated with me. As I train to attend the August level 2 workshop, it’s one thing after another – aggravating an old knee injury, tendinitis…conditions that require rest, ice and time. I start to feel defeated – how will I ever be close to ready in time? Maybe I’m too old (or overweight, or arthritic) for this…..Sometimes I feel angry – my body is betraying me! But I keep restarting, albeit more slowly and gently, because….. Bellydance is my art, my passion. I’ve reset my goal from “attain level 2 in 2011” to “attain level 2 by the time I turn 50” (that’s three years from now). By granting myself a slower, gentler pace I believe I’ll have longterm success.

  2. sarah says:

    Thank you Suhaila, I needed to hear that.
    After 2 c-sections, multiple pregnancies (and miscarriages), weight gain, loss, gain, loss, and gain…. I feel like I’m being smothered by this darkness and dancing is slipping further and further away from me. I wish I had seen this post earlier….
    I will keep pushing forward.
    Maybe one day I will evolve into a even better dancer.

Leave a Reply

